Mirror monologues: Beauty and the beast

I am writing a poetry series called ‘mirror monologues about those intimate and private thoughts and conversations you have with yourself.

I would value your feedback and insight…watch out for a video performance of the entire mirror monologues coming soon…

This poem is called beauty and the beast:

Sometimes I look in the mirror and I’m pretty; I’m happy with what I see.
Taking in the gem before me I serenade myself with my eyes and breathtakingly sign
Oh my, oh my – best believe I am too fine.
I blink and with the bat of an eye the vision before me brings such a surprise
Heartbreaking – I cry
This beast with two eyes stares back at me.

How is it in a split second, the second splits and all at once I am faced with such a contradiction?
My mind splits and all at once beauty and the beast stand before me.
They say the mind’s amazing and it is an amazing that I am for and against myself all at once – I don’t know.

I want to embrace myself – just as I am.
I say – just as I am – take me, just as I am.
Yet behind the bravado I won’t take myself, can’t take it.
I fight the frailty, a fragile ego set soft upon two sassy legs – open or shut I don’t know.
I fight to keep them closed as I walk, strut, stroll around the globe firing my mouth off on twitter.

 

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mirror monologues: Beauty and the beast

  1. Ariel Driskell says:

    Wow! I think so many of us struggle with self image and you just put most of our thoughts to words, which in itself is amazing. On most days I do feel attractive and then there are others when I question why I decided to go natural and cut my hair so low. But all in all, I do love myself, and I remind myself of that daily, because if a person doesn’t love themselves, how can they expect anyone else too. I look forward to reading more of the mirror monologues. 🙂

    • Thanks Ariel (beautiful name by the way)! I find the internal conflict we have daily between deciding if we are beautiful or not relally interesting.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post! Stay beautiful.

      Nissi.

  2. willofheart says:

    I definitely check that…. waiting…

  3. krissnp says:

    self-doubting and intelligent.

  4. I love this series and the entire concept behind it! Looking forward to reading all the mirror monologues 🙂

Leave a Reply

