Dream chasing and feeling alone.

If there is one thing I have grown to understand in my short but significant number of years it is that chasing your dreams can be lonely. Heck even when you aren’t chasing your dreams life can be burdensome. Over the weekend I went on a short retreat and it was good to get away from the hustle and bustle of London and spend time with like minded people. It felt good to be reminded that there are people out there as passionate, driven yet confused and fragile as I am. I think everyone at some time or another feels like they are in over their shoulders and may want to give up. However it is essential that we all remember that in our lonelioness there is unity.

Feelings are the most fantastic and fearful things all at once; they can affect the way we think and act, our quality of life and the depth and quality of our relationships. Our feelings of loneliness and dissatisfaction of life are necessary to push us to want more from life yet at the same time if not kept in check can cause us to become bitter and resentful.

I decided some years ago now that I would only allow myself to dwell in my feelings of loneliness for a little while. Life has so much to offer if we take the time to take our eyes of our problems and what we do not have.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dream chasing and feeling alone.

  1. nicole says:

    don’t ever feel bad about being alone.
    you are lovely! x

  2. “It felt good to be reminded that there are people out there as passionate, driven yet confused and fragile as I am.” Amen to that. Thanks for visiting my blog so I know you exist out in cyberspace! Good post, nice writing.

  3. Oh how i know exactly what you are talking about right now 😦 Hope things look up for you! Things always get better, or so i keep telling myself. Also, thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

