Radical Lifestyles: It is what really goes on behind closed doors that counts.

Hosea 4: 1 – 2.

1”.Hear the word of the Lord, you children of Israel, for the Lord has a controversy (a pleading contention) with the inhabitants of the land, because there is no faithfulness, love, pity and mercy, or knowledge of God [from personal experience with Him] in the land. 2. There is nothing but [false] swearing and breaking faith and killing and stealing and committing adultery; they break out [into violence], one [deed of] bloodshed following close another.”

Having a professed faith and actually living it out daily are two very different things. I can call myself a Christian, be at church every single Sunday with hands held high but if the minute I am not being watched my life is all crazy, there is something wrong. I will admit that there are a lot of things that I have done that do not give glory to God. In the moments when nobody is watching me or I am away from the people of my church, I have been a part of acts, conversations and had thoughts that are far from what Jesus died for. I am not proud of it. It has taken a lot of time for me to try and align my actions with the Bible and what I know God wants for me. To be honest I am still not there and you may one day here I have been caught slipping. However I am trying to correct my thoughts and behaviour to show the world that as a Christian I am set apart.

It is sad that often times Christians follow the world and especially in these days, want to be seen as having many similarities with non Christians. We want to make church more relevant and by doing so cut the major life changing scriptures. We do not want to be seen as preachy and so do not talk about our faith. I recently had the revelation that it is not me personally who will transform people therefore I do not need to conjure up different methods and tricks to bring people to God. Instead all I have to do is be faithful to what I know is the truth and let my life shine before people. The way I live is my biggest testimony. That will speak to people more than any shallow words I can come up with.

Lets try and break tradition by refusing to live as the Israelites did in the passage above.

Remember Christians always have been radical!

Nissi x

 

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Morning Devotions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

