Sometimes getting hurt is the best healer.

Hosea 2: 14 – 16 14. ”

Therefore, behold, I will allure her [Israel] and bring her into the wilderness, and I will speak tenderly and to her heart.15. There I will give her her vineyards and make the Valley of Anchor [troubling] to be for her a door of hope and expectation. And she shall be in that day, says the Lord, that you will call me Ishi [Husband], and you shall no more call Me Baali [my Baal]. ”

Have you ever found yourself in a tough or hurtful situation? Have you wondered why God would seemingly desert you even after you pray to Him. Have you ever had questions about why God lets certain things happen to people? The verses above give one insight into this. Let me make it clear that we will never know all the answers to God’s ways. Some things happen that cannot be explained (remember His ways are not our ways), and some things happen that can be explained. In the verses above it describes God bringing the people of Israel into the wilderness aka a tough situation so that they will return to Him and stop worshipping other gods aka money, fame, power. God loves us so much that sometimes He will allow us to get into trouble so that we can call on Him. There are some things that only God can save us from and sometimes it takes us getting hurt in order for us to realise that.

 I have personally found myself backed up against a wall and feeling helpless because of wrong decisions on my part. Even though I know that I am wrong, some part of me still expected God to intervene and take control; I found it hard to take responsibility for my actions. However now looking back I have seen that had God miraculously rescued me, there are some lessons I would not have and a testimony I would not be able to give. I am taking some time out of my day today to think about the different ways God has helped me by allowing me to go through the painful patches. Hopefully you can also take some time to thank God for His love, power and control.

 Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Morning Devotions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

