Morning Devotion: How often do you spend time with yourself?

This morning I woke up late and was unable to spend my morning meditating and speaking to God before I left my house. However during my shower and getting ready for work, I prayed and thought about the day. I believe that spending time with God is the best way to start the day. At the same time I also think that spending time with myself and reflecting on who I want to be is also important. As a result today my devotion is about reflection.

To pray and commit time to spending with God is great. You find out more about Him. Get deeper in your word and are spiritually prepared to face the day. However developing a good relationship is also encouraged by looking for specific ways to put into practise what God is telling us. I often take time out to review my behaviour, attitudes and thoughts. I simply sit or lay down in silence and think. I think about what God wants, I think about if I am trying to be that and then put together some ideas on how I can improve.
Ultimately I know that God loves me and His standards are the best. Often I find myself swept along by what everyone else is doing and drift. I find I am drifting along with who others want me to be and need to take time to find myself again.

Spending time with yourself is important. Take time to fall in love with you. It’ll give you greater purpose, drive and energy. Life can easily weigh us down when we do not see a specific reason for living.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Coping with change, health and beauty, life, Morning Devotions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Morning Devotion: How often do you spend time with yourself?

  1. Cakes McCain says:

    I think i needed to hear that… especially today. thanks.

Leave a Reply

