Doing right even when it might cost you.

The christian life is radical, hard and sometimes seemingly impossible. It is important we admit this to ourselves and not try to play holier than thou. Only by leaning on God is it possible to even try and walk as God would like us to (and is best for us). I have just read the story of Daniel in the Lion’s den and am blown away at his resolve to please God. In Daniel 6:1 – 28 Daniel is thrown in the Lion’s den for refusing to pray only to the King and no other god. Despite knowing that he will be thrown in the den with Lions, Daniel refuses to pray to the King and instead continues to pray to God. God saves Daniel from the Lions and the people who conspired to have Daniel thrown in the pit are the ones who end up being eaten by the lions.

The story is amazing because it shown an absolute trust in God, boldness and submission to God’s will. Verse 26 – 28 says this:

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

“26 [a]I make a decree that in all the dominion of my kingdom men are to fear and tremble before the God of Daniel;

For He is the living God and enduring forever,
And His kingdom is one which will not be destroyed,
And His dominion will be [b]forever.
27 “He delivers and rescues and performs signs and wonders
In heaven and on earth,
Who has also delivered Daniel from the [c]power of the lions.”

28 So this Daniel enjoyed success in the reign of Darius and in the reign of Cyrus the Persian.”

From Daniel’s story we learn that ultimately God reigns and is in control. He has the power to do amazing things in our lives and can deliver us from seemingly impossible situations as He did Daniel. Daniel was a human being just like you and I.

Today I pray that we will have hearts and minds like Daniel: completely set on God and committed to serving Him no matter what it may cost us. I pray for boldness and faith in all that we do.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life, Morning Devotions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

