Getting hair care right: The dry hair bug.

For as long as I can remember I have had extremely dry hair. No matter what product I lather on my hair soaks it up or lets it drip off and I am left with this wire mass that refuses to be tamed. Now I come from a family of people with lovely hair so it seems to be some sort of genetic malfunction in me. During  my childhood years I innocently applied the lotions my mum bought to my hair and resigned to the sad fate that I would have odd hair my whole life. However one of the joys of growing up is being able to think for yourself and decide that there has to be more to life than having hair that refuses to be tamed.

At the wonderful age of 18 I started exploring my options and now sincerely believe that tough hair is not something that we should put up with. I have been around a bit in terms of hair products; tried countless hair straighteners, conditioners and shampoos and the main lesson I have learned is: do not use products because they worked for your friend. This rule extends to all beauty products be it nail cream, facial lotion, lipgloss – everything. Why? Because your friend is different to you. What has worked for Faye Fantastic hair will not work for you because sadly you were not born with the same chemical composition as she was. As a result the way your body reacts top beauty products is different from the way you will.

In this blog I am not going to try and flog a beauty care product because I do not know you, have not seen you, have not studied your body and therefore have no groundings what so ever for the advice regarding what product to use. Only you know yourself and that is why it is key to pay attention to how your body reacts to products. If you wash your hair with a conditioner and after your hair feels rough, stop using the product! Conditioners are made to help your hair rejuvenate, become soft and easier to manage. If a conditioner does not have that effect, do not use it. Simples. The same goes for all other beauty products. Learn to listen to your body.

 

Nissi. x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in hair care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

