Why you should never go shopping with a man!

Rain on my parade. Those are the words that come to mind when I recall my many experiences having made the very unwise decision to go shopping with men. They seem to have this phenomenal; power to turn what should be a great shopping trip into a time of misery and banter. Time that could be spent looking for the next life changing item (because yes buying things does change a woman’s life) and try to convince us that nothing really needs to be bought. Whilst this may be true, most of what us women crave to buy is a want and not a need, there is no need for them to remind us of that constantly.

What happened to treats…it is not like we go shopping every single today. For example today I went to Westfield shopping centre with a man who shall not be named. When I got back I updated my status with the words ‘Today I exercised self-control and only bought sort of necessary items’, my guy decides to comment and put ‘with help’…Excuse me?! With help from who? I remember someone stopping me from going into nearly every single shop I wanted to…I remember someone complaining and making faces when I was in a shop…I remember someone not being of any help when I was deciding what to buy…but I do not remember any ‘help’ being given.

Lets face it, I do not have enough money or credit cards to buy out the whole of Westfields so either way my shopping is capped. So today I re – learned the lesson: shopping with men is something that should be carefully considered and not entered into lightly.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why you should never go shopping with a man!

  1. Harnew says:

    Who’s money is being spent? Yours or his?

Leave a Reply

