Sket the movie: Why I wouldn’t join a girl gang.

I am officially obsessed with the release of the girl gang movie ‘Sket’.  The movie is due for release October 28th and as women we would do a great discredit to ourselves not to see it. I grew up on an East London Estate and had friends who joined together to commit crimes. At the time they did not see themselves as a gang and if you asked them now, they would probably laugh at being called such a thing. There mentality says a lot about the so called ‘gang culture’ that has evolved on London streets. To join together in criminal activity such as beating people up, stealing and robbery has become a way of life. The labelling as a ‘gang’ makes it easy for the media and reporters to put a tag on what is happening but the first point to clarify is that these girls see it as a way of life.

Right rant out of the way I want to talk about why girls would want to behave like guys.  In an earlier post I discussed what drove the girls to the streets (terrible home lives) and now I want to look at all that is lost by being involved in the gang life. I am personally a bit of a girls girl. I hate pain, I hate running, I hate the cold, I hate stress, I hate most things needed to be a ‘good’ gang member. Also the thought of prison absolutely petrifies me so it’s safe to say that sentencing is more than enough of a deterrent for me. I know I am getting old school here but doesn’t joining a gang mean sacrificing the softer sensibilities of womanhood. I find it hard to believe that real joy can be achieved if all the time you are fearing for your life. Some will say it is adrenaline, but that constant rush is not healthy.

What do you think being in a gang does to the feminine side of a woman? Can you be feminine and be in a gang?

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

