Morning Devotion: conviction.

I began reading the book of Daniel this morning. For those of you who are not familiar with the story of Daniel I am not going to ruin it for you – go and read it. All I will say is that he was an incredible man of God. Despite being in life threatening situations he resolved to obey God. One of the greatest lessons to learn from him is that if we are to resist temptations and compromise, we have to first make up our minds to do so. Within our hearts and minds we have to set a standard that is immovable and no matter what happens, we can say I will never do it.

From the beginning of the book of Daniel we read “Daniel had made up his mind not to defile himself by eating the food given by the king”. Daniel 1vs 8.

Not eating the food of the King was just the beginning of further temptations and gifts to follow that could lead to a disregard for God. Often that is how life is. Rarely do people jump straight to a humongous evil like murder or bank robbery. It will start by telling small lies, talking behind peoples backs, being one person to one group of people and being another person by another group.

Today I pray that I can have the resolve and humility to humble myself to God daily. I know that by my own strength I am unable to meet God’s standards and live the life best for me – a pure one. Compromise is painful because at first it is enjoyable and everything is bliss. However the devil is the liar of all liars and the grapes will soon enough turn sour. Resolve to live for God.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in Morning Devotions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

