The movie ‘Sket’ and the importance of choices

Sket – slang for a promiscuous woman.

The trailer may shock some people with some going as far as saying that the movie is an exaggeration of what happens on inner city streets. I grew up on a council estate in east London and can testify to the fact that this movie is no exaggeration. Young women are fighting, forging allegiances and missing out on what should be harmless teen and early twenty years because of the brutality of the streets. For some their homes lives are so bad that getting out of the house is their only priority. It does not matter that what they are going to outside is probably a lot worse than what happens at home. Instead the comraderie and friendship that they get from the streets is the only safe place they know.

I was fortunate enough to grow up in a loving family. I use the word loving intentionally because we still had problems of our own and were by no means perfect. However my dad and brother always taught me to respect myself, others and stay out of trouble. Not every girl has men in their life who genuinely care and can give them that advice. In fact most young girls do not. I look back on the problems I could have faced and am thankful that I made the choices that I did. It was not easy but I chose not to go along with what everyone else was doing.

It is refreshing to see a movie like Sket released because it is finally bringing the problems young women face to attention. The media has been so caught up following the male side of knife and gun crime that they are forgetting that there are a lot of women caught up in this mess.

Hey ladies lets pay attention to our own lives by choosing our company wisely. It gets lonely sometimes but a lot of the time my loneliness has been the safest and most beneficial place I have known. Our choices affect our life for years to come. I have friends who made big messes of their lives by getting caught up in the wrong crowds. The movie Sket is a lot more than entertainment – we have lessons to learn.

Can’t wait to see it!

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The movie ‘Sket’ and the importance of choices

  1. Cakes McCain says:

    tx for posting. This looks great and I never would have heard about it otherwise! (I live somewhat of an an isolated existence, LOL!). One of my favourites from the past is “Set it Off” and I am really curious to see a non-American perspective on this issue. cheers!

  2. I hope this movie makes it to the theaters in the States. There are plenty of women here who can relate it.

  3. Madison Woods says:

    What truth. Thanks for the review of what sounds like a very important movie.

  4. I’ve never heard of the movie – now it’s on my radar. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

