Learning to juggle

Growing as a woman is interesting. Each and every single day brings something weird and wonderful or something horrid and hateful. It all depends on the way we look at life. I have found that learning to juggle is essential to getting the most out of each day. A lot of the time 24 hours seems too short. There are so many things that need to be done and the work vs life balance gets harder to navigate as we move into our 20 –  40s.

When I was 15 I only had to think about myself; getting good grades, keeping my friends happy, not getting caught up in the wrong kinds of gossip. Now that I am 22 I have to think about my family, my job, my future aspirations, making sure I am preparing myself for a great husband. Everyday presents challenges where I am forced to make decisons about the way I spend my time. To avoid stress and misplacing my priorities I have written my own mission statement.

My mission statement is a breakdown of all the things that are important to me, what I want to achieve in life and my non negotiable values. It helps me to decide how I spend my time by reminding me of what I believe in. When I need to make decisions I think about my mission statement and if the activity conflicts with who I have said I am and what I want to be. If the activity conflicts then I will not do it.

Having a mission statement has changed my life. It helps to keep my mind clear and at peace. If you are feeling stressed and uptight at the moment, take some time out to review what you are doing. We are stressed when we over stretch ourselves. To be stressed once in a while is understandable but if you are finding yourself constantly stressed and uptight then things need to change.

Write your own mission statement. Consider the following:

– what are your core beliefs – what is important to you – where do you see yourself in the next 3, 5, 10 years – what do you want to be known for -what kind of person do you want to marry.

Now if things come up that conflict with, or do not add to your life in any way, leave it alone. Learn to say no. You do not have time for everything. Learning to juggle is important but make sure it is the right things.

Nissi x

About Plantain Periodicals

Hello! Welcome to the Plantain Periodicals blogs. The name stems from the kitchen moments I had with my friends at university cooking plantain and planning our lives together. I have used this space as a window into my mind and the way I make sense of all my experiences through writing.This is where I share those conversations and moments that happen inside my head as a young woman growing up in 21st century London. Hopefully you'll be entertained and also learn a thing or two. My main blog ad: www.nissiknows.wordpress.com My literature blog: www.plantainperiodicals.wordpress.com NMx
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

